Switching from bottom-up to top-down -> typical problems

General discussion of topics that don't seem to fit anywhere else.
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
radi2k
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Switching from bottom-up to top-down -> typical problems

Postby radi2k » Wed Mar 29, 2017 6:11 am

Hi all,

I have been building bottom-up printers for the last two years now and still having issues with peeling. Tried a lot of different things with only average results and things get even worse or impossible when going big. All these issues seem to vanish or become obsolete when switching to the top-down concept. Almost all of the big companies only offer the big machines with this concept as it was invented 30 years ago. So in the end, for the moment, I think top-down has more advantages than bottom-up.

As I am completely new to top-down systems -> what are the typical problems I'd have to face? I'm interested in any kind and like to build a small list!

I bet there are more than:
- consistent layer height only possible with wiper
- needs a lot of resin (when not using another liquid where the resin floats on)
- reliable resin level measurement
- a lot of mechanically moving parts
- pigment settling

Thanks,
radi2k

radi2k

Re: Switching from bottom-up to top-down -> typical problems

Postby radi2k » Mon Apr 03, 2017 9:20 am

Hi,

No one every worked with top-down or never built such a printer? I bet there are many people out here that have a good knowledge of that concept but are too lazy to answer :) So please give me some suggestions, tips, ...

Thanks,
radi2k

tom-res

Postby tom-res » Mon Apr 03, 2017 10:24 am

Ok, I'll bite.