Help ardunio set up

Here is the place to discuss software and related tools for Slice generation, machine control, & etc...
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
farnzy
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Help ardunio set up

Postby farnzy » Fri Feb 03, 2017 3:15 pm

Hello, this is my first time posting and first time building a 3D printer using a projector. I have done a fair bit of research to understand most of the processes but am stuck with one issue.

I have purchased my ardunio uno and tried too understand the initial setup of it but seem to Be missing soemthing . Is there a process I can follow and code I can use simply once the ardunio is set up. Then print things with just using using creation Workshop??

If someone could help me understand this it would be great thanks heaps guys

leitnin

Re: Help ardunio set up

Postby leitnin » Fri Feb 10, 2017 7:45 am

EDIT: Reading a bit into this it seems that the UNO may not have enough memory to handle the Marlin firmware as well as the printer movement queue in RAM. Teacup firmware is probably a good alternative.

This is a difficult topic given all the different hardware/firmware/software combinations out there, but I know what it is like to be at the point you are, so let me see if I can help...

A lot of people have moved to a setup similar to an FDM printer with an Arduino Mega 2560 with a Ramps 1.4 board using marlin firmware because this is a well known and easy to use setup.