Projector focus

Forum dedicated to discussion and technical support centered around the LittleRP affordable, open source 3D resin printer.
Kattejuice
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Projector focus

Postby Kattejuice » Thu Jan 15, 2015 10:51 am

Hi, I'm new to DLP printing and I have some questions about calibrating a few things.

After following the assembly guides I got to focusing the projector, which I did as best as I could using the included scaling charts.
One thing that concerns me, however, is that the best focus I could get was with the focusing-dial all the way to one side. In other words, I don't know if it is optimally focused since I cannot overshoot and see when the focus gets worse again.

My first calibration print did turn out well, but not perfect, and (apart from some failure caused by breaking supports) so did my second and third attempt with some figurines.
I should try making the calibration piece again and see if I can improve my settings.

I'm using a P1500 in the front-most position with all the acrylic washers as described in the assembly guide.

Should I try moving it back by one hole to focus better? And wouldn't this affect the print resolution?

Kattejuice
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Projector focus

Postby Kattejuice » Thu Jan 15, 2015 11:05 am

Heres the first print
Sorry about poor quality, taken from my phone.