Electronics basics (Need your help..)

You can discuss various control electronics here. RAMPs, Arduinos, Motor Controller boards & etc...
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
wirelessguyny
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Electronics basics (Need your help..)

Postby wirelessguyny » Mon Jul 13, 2015 12:13 pm

Given that many folks out there may be starting from scratch like me I thought that I'd start a thread with some relatively basic questions I think others might come across as well.

I have some electrical knowledge but that can be more dangerous than good when it comes to tinkering. I am attempting to wire up a simple 4 pin bipolar CDROM stepper motor to an arduino Uno through a DRV8825 stepstick.

Questions are as follows...
1. How does voltage/amperage work and how to I test this?
I started with a wall wart power supply which read 12V / 800ma but my volt meter shows closer to 18V. I do understand that these things tend to have tolerance levels within a given range but don't know how that might affect my results.

So far.... :
I believe that everything was wired to my CDROM drive bipolar stepper correctly and although I was able to actuate the motor and get it to travel back and forth there was a buzzing noise and the motor began to heat up quite a lot. (Note: I do not know the stepper motors specs but I do know continuity of the poles so I at least have As and Bs - although it is possible that I have B1/B2 mixed up. I don't know how I'd tell the difference )