Printing with Makerjuice G+ unpigmented resin

You can discuss Photo-sensitive resins, polymers, and oligomers.
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
rofl
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Printing with Makerjuice G+ unpigmented resin

Postby rofl » Sun Nov 06, 2016 6:36 am

Hello everybody.

I am new at SLA, so bear with me.

I have recently started to print with SLA using Makerjuice G+ resin, but that resin is transparent, non-pigmented. I have enclosed picture of my failure. I bought non-pigmented resin since I though it would be nice to have non-colored one, since it looked quite universal, but I honestly think that I was completely wrong.

Hardware: ACER 6510BD beamer.
I am using tensioned FEP film as vat bottom. XY resolution is ~100microns as well.

My questions are:

1. Is non-pigmented resin usable at all? As far as I understand now, light is able to go through the part completely, when it is transparent, and it can burn way more resin than it should, whereas when resin is pigmented, it is not transparent, so light will only burn visible region, avoiding deeper sections. However, when I did my research, I found that generally photopolymers, when exposed to light, will polymerize just a very thin layer of photopolymer. So I do not get that then...