Projector or LED array?

This is the place to discuss DLP projectors, UV Lasers, Galvanometers, LCD screens and similar display devices. Also discussed are optics in general.
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
napalm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Projector or LED array?

Postby napalm » Mon Mar 23, 2015 4:06 pm

Hello everybody, I'm an absolute noob here so bear with me if I say some silly stuff.

I've become increasingly interested in SLA printing after Carbon3D revealed CLIP, so I'm planning to make my own (for hobby use) SLA printer using the tons of information this forum has.
I'm having some doubts though regarding projectors and LCD/LED arrays to project the UV (or near-UV) light onto the resin, using the bottom-up approach.
So, here we go:

1) Are normal projectors enough to cure the resin in a reasonable time (e.g. 2-3 seconds), and if so what wave length do they have to operate at? I've read that projectors tend to get damaged when operating below ~400nm

2) Regarding LED arrays with LCD screens, is it worth a shot (also considering this http://www.lcd3dprinter.com/ very interesting website) or are they just too unreliable to get good results?

3) Again on the matter of LED arrays, what about using a Plasma display instead of an LCD one? Would that be able to block/let the UV light go through? I know nothing about optics, so I'm hoping you guys can shed some light on this.

Sorry if this has already been answered before, I just thought I'd ask before potentially wasting hundreds of dollars/euros on bad projectors and the like.

Phife

Re: Projector or LED array?

Postby Phife » Mon Mar 23, 2015 6:18 pm