4K lcd question

This is the place to discuss DLP projectors, UV Lasers, Galvanometers, LCD screens and similar display devices. Also discussed are optics in general.
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
Jasonpgr
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

4K lcd question

Postby Jasonpgr » Mon Mar 12, 2018 5:01 pm

I’m looking to build a high resolution sla printer but I’m totally new to this type of build. I’ve built several FDM printers over the last couple years, so I’m familiar with the electronics and materials at least.

I’m particularly looking to produce high detail 3d models and miniature figurines, so maximizing detail is important, but I definitely want to go as big as possible at the same time. My original plan was to use a laser galvo, but it seems like going big will distort the laser and there’s not a ton of support for addressing that problem. After hunting around this sight, I’m a huge fan of the LCD with the UV backlight set up, so I’d love to make one of these. The smallest 4K monitor I can find for a decent price is a 23” screen. Would this be too big of a panel to use even with 4K resolution? Not sure what the DPI is, but this seems like pushing it. I was hoping for a 17” but didn’t see anything on Newegg.

Do I need any particular kind of LCD if I want to ad my own LED UV backlight?

It seems like the retina iPad version is the most well documented build, so I might start off with that if the big 4K display isn’t a high enough DPI. Are there any links or threads you’d recommend checking out a step by step build, preferably with a BOM or something I can follow along with?

Jasonpgr

Re: 4K lcd question

Postby Jasonpgr » Mon Mar 12, 2018 5:09 pm